2020 PSAHPERD Awards Update

2020, a new decade. Time to reflect, make changes and look for new ways to improve what we want to do heading into the future. That is exactly what PSAHPERD did as it assigned an Ad Hoc Awards Committee to review all our awards and protocols to meet our mission. We wanted to continue to recognize our deserving Health Education and Physical Education teachers throughout PA. We are also striving to streamline the application and evaluation process by updating our criteria, applications, and rubrics. 

Cindy Allen, Judy Conroy, Fran Cleland Donnelly, Craig Kemmlein. Colleen Wegimont, and Margie Wuestner have been working over the past few months on this task.  As the chair of this committee, I have been blessed to work with these amazing and dedicated professionals.

PSAHPERD had a number of awards that no longer met the mission of the association and were eliminated. We wanted to make sure our awards were relevant to our members as well as the mission. The committee also took time to look at the nominations process and came up with the following:

Teacher of the Year, Thom Cobb Emerging Leader Award and the PSAHPERD Professional Honor Award will be nominated online by all members, the Board of Directors (BOD) and our Local Associations. Elmer B. Cottrell Award nominated by PSAHPERD Past Presidents, past winners and BOD. Ethel G. Encke nominated by Past Presidents, BOD and Local Associations. The Outstanding Future Professional and Violet Baumgardner Scholarship will be nominated by our PA universities with Health Education and Physical Education teacher preparation programs.  Special awards such as the Layman and Charles “Chick” Hungerford Lifetime Achievement Awards will be nominated by the BOD  and the Legislative Award nominations will come from the Advocacy Committee. 

Applications, criteria and rubrics have been updated for all our awards and we will reflect on them at the end of the year and make any needed changes to meet the needs of our applicants and award evaluators. 

Nominations for all awards will open this month and close on April 30, 2020. Applications and nomination letters will be sent out by May 10th and all applications will need to be completed and returned by June 30th. The evaluators will review all applications and nominees will be notified by the Award Chair, Colleen Wegimont by August 30th. 

Please look for the nomination link on the PSAHPERD website and take time to nominate a deserving colleague for the Teacher of the Year, Emerging Leader Award or the Professional Honor Award.  The criteria for each award is listed on the website to help you select qualified nominees. You can also nominate yourself. You are all part of the nominating team for the 2020 PSAHPERD awards. We need your help! Thanks. Colleen

Share this post:

Comments on "2020 PSAHPERD Awards Update"

Comments 0-5 of 0

Please login to comment